The Best Newsletters for Freelance Writers

These are the newsletters that help me do my job.

--

One of the biggest challenges of being a freelance writer is figuring out how to do the job. There are no colleagues to chat with at the water cooler. There is no boss to train you. There’s no HR department or employee handbook. You’re on your own, kid.

Luckily, there are many, many others out there doing the same work, and many of them are happy to offer their guidance and support.

Over time, I’ve subscribed to quite a few newsletters that have helped me navigate this weird field, and I want to highlight a few of my favorites.

(I don’t know any of the writers below personally; I’ve just found their newsletters to be incredibly helpful, so I want to show them some love. Click on each title to subscribe to any of the newsletters you’re interested in.)

Notes from a Hired Pen

Jen Miller is a full-time freelance health, science, and technology writer with more than 15 years of experience. She is also a runner, and many of her major bylines reflect that. (In case you doubt her love of running, she literally wrote a book titled Running: A Love Story.)

Now, I am not a runner. You will only find me running when there is someone…

--

--

Sandra Ebejer

Entertainment & lifestyle journalist. Pub in The Cut, Shondaland, Next Avenue, and more / sandraebejer.com / Twitter: @sebejer